Don’t stop this train…

Signs, Signs...everywhere signs....

In my line of work I deal with mostly men.  One of my clients (<<< as I was typing this..I wonder If “clients” sparked your interest to my profession. OR is that just MY crazy mind?? ) Anyway… my most favorite client called yesterday.  He’s actually one of my most favorite all around people to talk to.  He’s a typical Northern Jersey guy.  Gold chain, accent , a bit rough around the edges…straight shooter type of guy.  Love him.

” Hey John ! How are things? ”

” Good ….busy…but good.  I don’t know Hol.. it just seems as I’m getting older there is less time for things that I want to do.  I’m not doing more of something different, new…yet there seems to be no time.”

The conversation didn’t turn into the old cliché’ chat about when you grow older time flies by so much faster.  It was more than that….hit home a bit more.  He continued…

” I’m always rushing around to get things done…to be ready for ..something…..to prepare for something.”  When I get done with this or that….then I can do x, y and z .”

” But I’m realizing….that this is it.  Right now…these moments are LIFE.  That later on….there will be other things to deal with, more work to be done.  Will I still be waiting to do those things that I want to do? ”

Crazy how this conversation has been playing in my mind the past two days.  I get what John was saying…feeling.  I do the same thing.  That when things get rolling, I’m really going to give it my all.  I’m going to try this, do that or go here.

All of the stuff that we are going to do “SOMEDAY”….all of those “some days” are TODAY….and yesterdays nothing but missed opportunities. By the time we realize that THIS IS it….this is life…these are the moments that we have been waiting for …the ride has already been moving.  And it’s picking up speed….faster and faster with each moment…

So grateful for moments, people…and conversations like the one with John.

TODAY is the day that we have been waiting for….Today is the day that you start living the life you’ve always wanted to live.

Tagged , ,

8 thoughts on “Don’t stop this train…

  1. Great song.

    Nice post! 🙂

  2. bittercharm says:

    Not so long ago, I used to wish for things, I would like to do somewhere in near future. I went for my honeymoon to the most beautiful place I had ever seen and asked my husband, “I would like to come back here again and do this and this and this”. And the answer I got, shook me and made me quit my habit of wishing for things and live every opportunity I get… the reply was, “honey, you need to stop running ahead of yourself, you are here now, why can’t you do all of that today.” I loved the post.

  3. I love this post. I always used to plan and look forward to the next thing. Until last year. I said – we should move overseas, becoe expats – my husband agreed and now we live in Trinidad. I will tell you – it’s the best decision we have ever made. Things move slower here..no one complains about anything. Everyone makes the best out of what they have. We watch MUCH less TV and are way more active. We eat fresher, more natural foods. We are happy. You have to stop saying “one day” and start saying “now”.
    xoxo from Trinidad

    • Muddy Socks says:

      Do you need a neighbor ?? Sounds AMAZING !!! Is that really how it happened? ” Honey…want to move to Trinidad ? ” Love your courage. That’s what this life is about…making it what you want!!

  4. T.M. says:

    soooooooooooo true:)

  5. bittercharm says:

    Hi Holly, No new post today? Here, let me give you the topic for your next post. I have nominated you for The Liebster Blog award. I won’t be around on weekend so all the best for the race. You go girl!
    Love,
    Prabhjot

  6. Know what’s interesting, is that for the longest time I never had any interest in getting a christmas tree. finally this year I said, “know what, I’m 30, what am I waiting for?” So I got my first christmas tree. I was waiting for something to be right. Nothing is ever right. Just do things.

Leave a Reply

