Progress..

I have officially decided on my first race for 2012.  This will force me to train through the bitter cold months.  ( fingers crossed for a mild winter ) April 1st-  The Fools 50K ( but I will be doing the 25k ) This should be a good stepping stone for my ultimate goal of doing a 5oK.  I will commence my official training January 2nd.  So mark your calendars…because I know you will all be waiting with bated breath for my training updates.

Tonight…was Spinning class # 3 .  I won’t play tough….it kicked my ass.  Wobbly legs with close calls of them giving out, mixed with urges of vomiting on myself, made it awesome ! ..GREAT times ! But damn if I don’t feel awesome when all is said and done.  Super Spinning Instructor Rita keeps me coming back. Well….her and the close calls of vomiting…because who can deny that type of excitement?!

Rita’s loud motivations into the microphone keep me pedaling.  Not always fast and hard…but always moving.

”  COMMIT TO THIS !!!…..COMMIT TO YOURSELF!! ”

” PUSH YOURSELF….YOU CAN MAKE YOURSELF STRONGER! ”

” IF YOU WANT SOMETHING…IF YOU WANT THIS….WORK IT !! ”

And so far I’m enjoying her playlists.  Though not a big fan of her warm-up song tonight.  “Red Solo Cup” .  Really ?!?!

The moment that got me going tonight? Rita yells ……. ” DO YOU KNOW WHERE YOU ARE ???? ”  And on it comes….

Music…motivation for the soul.  Jules asked about songs and playlists.  Well… I truly love everything.  Love acoustic stuff …hip hop, country, even the romantic sap. Love it all !  So let’s share….shall we.. ?

This is my playlist that I made to get me through my half marathon :

Sky – Joshua Radin ( featuring Ingrid Michaelson )

Pretty Vegas – INXS

Make Her Say – Kid Cudi

Set Fire to the Rain – Adele

Harder, Better, Stronger, Faster – Kanye West

Fire it Up – Modest Mouse

Sex on Fire – Kings of Leon

Faster – Matthew Nathanson

Don’t Give up on me now – Ben Harper

Something To Be – Rob Thomas

Till I Collapse – Eminem

Everyday – Dave Matthews

Missed the Boat – Modest Mouse

Dare you to Move – Switch Foot

Praise You – Fat Boy Slim

Pumped up Kicks – Foster the People

Lose Yourself – Eminem

So Right – Dave Matthews

Beautiful – Eminem

Dog Days are Over – Florence and the Machine

Shake Ya Tail Feather – Murphy Lee & Nelly

Creep – Radiohead

S&M – Rihanna

Show me what I’m Looking For – Carolina Liar

Feeling Good – Muse

You Get what you Give –  New Radicals

It Don’t Matter – Donavon Frankenreiter

Ok….so now it’s your turn. What’s on your playlist ?

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “Progress..

  1. bittercharm says:

    Great going Holly, You Rock!

  2. 25k – that’s awesome! I just decided to start training for my 1st half mararthon…training starts today.. At least I have the luxury of living in Trinidad – where’s its warm all year. 🙂
    Thanks for the new songs…I love new workout tunes. A great one to add to that list is Im sexy and I know it – LMAFO – it’s got an awesome beat! That’s funny you posted Welcome to the Jungle…that was our high school fottball song…We were the Lions and our stadium was called the Jungle… Have a fabulous day!

    xoxo from Trinidad

    • Muddy Socks says:

      CONGRATS on deciding to do your 1st half !!!! I WANT to train in Trinidad !!
      Welcome to the Jungle…ha! I know, right?…It’s definetly a blast from the past…still love it. 🙂

  3. Congrats on taking the first step! A 25k is GREAT!!

  4. T.M. says:

    THAT,S MY GIRL 🙂

  5. Frankie says:

    A 25k wow! I’m impressed. Good luck with the training. Also, I really like the song Red Solo Cup… but the only version I’ve heard was on glee last week 🙂 And I agree, it’s kind of lame for a warm up song.

  6. Muddy Socks says:

    First time I heard it …..was on Glee last week too. Guess I’m behind in the times. Seems to be a ” hot” song…LOL !

  7. aka Jules says:

    woot. I did actually type into google, local races for 2012… but my little guy woke from his nap before I had the chance to look. but it’s not lost on me, thanks for the playlist… Two of my favorites right now are: Jai Ho! (from slumdog millionaire) and Waving Flag by k’naan. I will have to check out a few of yours and see what inspires me to keep my feet moving… one in front of the other. best!!

Leave a Reply

