The List of realizations…

My intentions are good….and my desire is real.  Yet…my follow through is shitty at best.  Yes..SHITTY!   I’m not always this hard on myself, but I will call it like it is.  My goals and mind-set have been compromised.  By what ? I keep going back to colder weather and darker days.  But really?  Is it the winter slump that has me so damn lazy ?

Ugh…more than anything, I hate people who do nothing more than make excuses.  Whenever I hear people ramble on about how their life didn’t turn out how they had expected. The response in my head is always the same .. ” Quit your bitching and change what you don’t like!!”

I have tons of wisdom and awesome advice….but following my own grand tid bits has always been a struggle.  I think we all battle this to an extent.  But I reign myself Queen in this department.  I want to change this.  Very simply, I want to do better.  And I can….will. Figure out what’s not working…and change it.

90% of the battle is mental.  I believe this with everything.  Your mental attitude will either build you or break you.

Ever feel that your goals are unjustified? Not important in the whole scheme of things…? Months of training.  Hours taken away from family and friends to be devoted to ….yourself. All to prove to yourself that you can run a certain distance?  Finish in a certain time? Transform your body into something different?  I don’t have an answer…but I wonder if others struggle with the same issues that I do.

I signed up for a 10k trail race next weekend.  Determined to go out with guns blazing…to really give it my best competitive try. I knew I had to prepare and start training for this.  A WEEK before ? yea…my plans are very sporadic  as of late.  I do know this.  I got up this morning with good intentions of scoping out the race location and giving the trail a pre-race go.   Got dressed in my running gear with an extra layer.  Because after all,  my running has suffered because of my lazy ass the weather.

After 2 hours of trying to find this hidden gem where the race will commence….My amped up pms’d attitude had, had enough ! Found it..saved it in the GPS and back home I came.

Here’s what I’m realizing today…

1.) I will not be standing on any winners podiums next weekend.

2.) I WILL know how to get there.

3.) That you need to : ” Plan your work, and then work your plan.”

4.) I have no fuckin plan.

5.) How liberating it is to be able to say what I want…because it’s MY blog.

6.) fuckin…<< just for the fun of it.

7.) Lists can be fun.

8.) You can never end a list on #8

9.) That I work better with a structured, written out training plan that keeps me focused.

10.) I need to get my mind..back in MY game….and start planning THE PLAN!

” If you do what you’ve always done, You will get what you’ve always gotten. ” 

Tagged , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “The List of realizations…

  1. Well good luck in the trail run! Go out with guns blazing, but HAVE FUN too!! The one I recently did was tougher than any other 10k I’ve done.
    I hope your recap has “fuckin” in it several times too!

  2. Frankie says:

    My intentions are good too, but I have absolutely NO follow through with the exercising. Especially in this cold. I see people running outside, and I admire them and pity them because GOSH it’s cold!!

    I hope the race goes well!

  3. TARLA MULLER says:

    MISSY I THINK THAT SOMETIMES YOU ARE SO HARD ON YOURSELF. YOU OUR DOING A GREAT JOB. REMEMBER WHERE YOU WERE 15 MONTHS AGO AND NOW .THAT IS WHAT I CALL HARD WORK AND SETTINGS GOALS .AND YOU HAVE DONE THAT FOR SURE .SOOOOOOOOOO GIVE YOURSELF A PAT ON THE BACK AND BE PROUD OF WHAT YOU HAVE DONE .LOVE YOU BUNCHES XOXOX

  4. aka Jules says:

    So as I’m sitting on the couch with my belly hanging out of a bedtime shirt that used to fit (that is cover my belly) looking at my partner and grabbing my form saying, “I’m getting fat”… which really just means, I’m feeling insecure about my body (which looked better at 7 months postpartum than it does at 17 months) and haven’t exercised in about three months and feel weak and unmotivated and have zero energy and wonder why today passed by and I didn’t follow through on my plan that I made while laying in bed last night and the night before and the one before that and the one before that… I take a look at my blog comments and find that you visited and left a sweet comment about my son laughing in the snow… and as I come to visit you to say thanks… I read your most recent post. I have to say if you’re the Queen, then slide over sister, cause you have to share that throne with me, the other Queen of not listening to my own advice, but giving it freely and wisely to others. Thanks for your honesty, your list, and your inspiration. I keep thinking that if I sign up for a race (I have never done one), then I will actually have to do something. My intention today is to get up in the morning and go for a run. And then before January 1st, I will have researched some races and sign up for one!

    again, (hand on my heart) thanks.

  5. bittercharm says:

    First thing, Girl you are funny. Second, you are right about its being all in the head, all the best with your gig, you may not win, but remember to have fun. This may not get you to the podium, but can get you on a schedule you want for your fitness… so you go girl!

  6. I am SO happy I found your blog – you make me laugh – out loud. Life is all about figuring it out as you go along – so have fun – enjoy yourself – laugh and enjoy every second!

    xoxo from Trinidad

  7. BigDogjn says:

    I’m lazy too..I know that doesn’t help, but hey at least you aren’t alone. I need to move somewhere warm, but then I might just be lazy AND have no excuses…

Leave a Reply

